RSS Feed

Roasted Banana Cupcakes

This week has been a very sweet and busy one, I have to admit that I am relived Sunday has arrived! Today will be dedicated to reckless relaxing, I tell you.

It all started on Thursday when I started baking my biggest cake yet: a chocolate starfish cake for 25/30 people. Chocolate with chocolate filling covered in chocolate and frosted with buttercream. It was quite tiring, especially the part where I stay up till 2 am piping thousands of dots of buttercream on the cake.

null

But what an amazing feeling when I finished it, my baby!
(She says, munching on a piece of her “baby” as she writes, unfit mother..)
A few facts: it weighted about 7 or 8 kgs, it was formed by 6 cakes cut and shaped and the base was 40cm x 50cm.

null

Then it was time to bake Roasted Banana Cupcakes, deliciously full-flavoured little treats. I was in the quest to find a cupcake that would be light and fluffy enough to bake for the 1st birthday of my favourite baby, and that wouldn’t be too rich either. These were amazing!! The recipe is from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes book, slightly tweaked to adapt my lack of some ingedients.

null

Roasted Banana Cupcakes
3 Ripe Banana
2 cups Plain Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
3/4 tsp Salt
1/2 cup Unsalted Butter
3/4 cup Sugar
3 Eggs, Separated
1/2 cup Greek Yoghurt (recipe originally calls for sour cream)
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 200°C. Place the unpealed bananas on a tray lined with baking paper and roast for 15 minutes. The peal will darken, don’t worry. Remove from oven and cool before peeling. Recude temperature to 150°C.

In a bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the egg yolks, one at a time, mixing in between.
Add the roasted bananas (you won’t have to mash them, they’ll be very soft) and mix until well combined.

Add the previously sifted flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt in three times, alternating with the greek yoghurt. When the flour is well combines, add the vanilla extract.

In another bowl, mix the egg whites until soft peaks form. Gently fold into the cupcake batter, being careful not to over mix it.

Fill the cupcake liners until slightly more than half full and bake for 15/20 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean.

nullFor the buttercream, I decided to use a recipe I had never tried before and was very surprised by the texture. It might be my new favourite!

Vanilla Buttercream
1 cup Butter
3 cups Icing Sugar, Sifted
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 or 2 tblsp Thickened Cream (depending on consistency required)
1 pinch of Salt

Cream the butter until light and fluffy, add sugar in, a bit at a time, and mix until well combined, about 3 minutes.
Add the vanilla extract, salt and the cream and continue mixing for another minute at medium speed.
nullMy week’s highlight, apart from finishing the huge Starfish Cake, was receiving a beautiful present for my wedding from my overseas friends Sempro, Ilaria and Nanì. It was an amazing surprise and me and L. were so moved by it! I love you guys!!!

If you want to have a sneak peak into the wedding photos, which arrived 2 days ago, I truly recommend you tune in for next post. Or follow My Lovely Bites on Facebook, so you never miss out!

null

About My Lovely Bites

My name is Sylvia and I'm a messy baker and blogger from Sydney, Australia :) To get a peak into my latest adventure go to http://mylovelybites.wordpress.com/ :)

9 responses »

  1. hellyeaaa!!!! so happy for u, bad guys!! hope to see u all soon!! :)

    Reply
  2. These look fantastic – as does the starfish cake! Glad to be following you now – I’m sure you have more yummy posts coming up!

    Reply
  3. your starfish cake looks so damn amazing!! Great job :)

    Reply
  4. Holy starfish girl, you are SO stinkin’ talented!!! I always wonder how in the world could I be any more impressed with you and then you go and make {this} cake. I wanna be you :)

    Reply
  5. starfish cake looks amazing! how heavy was the cake? I’m curious!
    anyway, I’m going to give your roasted banana cupcakes a go as soon as I can!

    Reply
  6. That cake is amazing. Great job! I’m so terrible at piping lol.

    Reply
  7. I love banana! These cupcakes sound delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

