RSS Feed

Daily Archives: January 13, 2012

Chai Cupcakes

I am back! I’m so sorry for neglicting to post until today (my aim is to post twice a week, just so you know), I have been a bit overwhelmed with the whole blogging experience. Did I mention I am somewhat of a perfectionist? And since recipes don’t always come out perfect at the first try…well, it’s obviously a tiny bit hard for me to be confident enough to post them!

But hey! Aside from this slightly down start, I am very excited to announce that my cake-baking season will be starting soon :) In fact, next weekend will be pretty busy with birthday cakes, and so will be the one after that! I can’t wait to get baking and post all the cake madness that will ensue.

Today, I’ll leave you with these sweet Chai Cupcakes with Chai Buttercream.
Do you like Masala Chai? I love it!

null

Ingredients
100g Butter
1 cup Caster Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla Essence
2 Eggs
½ Chai Spice Mix (recipe follows!)
1 ¼ cups Plain Flour (sifted)
½ cup Buttermilk
½ tsp Bicarb Soda
½ tsp White Vinegar

Chai Spice Mix
1 ½ tsp Ground Cardamom
1 ½ tsp Ground Cinnamon
½ tsp Ground Ginger
¼ tsp Ground Cloves
¼ tsp Ground Nutmeg

Preheat oven at 160°C

In a bowl, mix sugar and butter together until well combined. Add vanilla extract and eggs, beating after each addiction.
Add chai spice mix. Fold in flour and buttercream alternately. Mix vinegar and bicard together before adding it to the mixture.

♥ I recommend making mini cupcakes with this mixture (makes 24 ), since it is quite tasty and sweet.

Chai Buttercream
2 cups Butter
2 cups Pure Icing Sugar
1/2 Chai Spice Mix
2 tsp Vanilla Essence
Milk (if needed)

Beat butter until creamy. Mix in sugar, 2 tblsp at a time, chai spice mix and 2 tsp vanilla essence. You can add 1 tblsp milk to soften consistency if you like.

Pipe onto cupcakes and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar before serving!

Recipe from Some More Please

nullDid you know?
“Chai” is an hindi word meaning “tea” in general, not specifically the type of tea we associate with the Western “Chai”. In India, the Chai tea we know is called “Masala Chai” which translates into “mixed-spice tea”.
null

null

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

